New Teenager Laws
1. Effective September 1, 2013, all students beginning drivers education classes must also do 30 hours of behind-the-wheel with an adult who meets the requirements of Section 521.222 (d)(2), Transportation Code. Below is the website to print the log to record those hours. www.tea.state.tx.us/drive
2. Metro received an email on March 19th changing the start up date for the ITTD program to begin on September 1, 2015 instead of April 1, 2015. So for any student taking the driving/road test on September 1 or after, they are required to take the ITTD online 2-hour class. Starting September 1, 2015 any driver license applicant, ages 16-24, who have successfully completed a Teen Driver Education Course (32 hours classroom/44 hours behind the wheel) and issued a DE-964 are required take Impact Texas Teen Drivers (ITTD) before being administered a driving skills examination. ITTD is a free 2 hour informational video that is available through the Department’s Impact Texas Teen Drivers website: https://impacttexasteendrivers.dps.texas.gov/ Upon completion of the ITTD program teenagers will receive a Certificate of Completion that must be presented prior to administering the drive skills examination. The ITTD Certificate of Completion must be dated within 90 days of the administered skills examination.
NOTE: ITTD does not replace the distracted driving module provided in the 32 hours of driver education classroom phase. This program has been added to emphasize the ever-increasing dangers of distracted driving. For more information, visit http://dps.texas.gov/DriverLicense/ittdPrgm.htm Questions may be addressed to the Department of Public Safety at (512) 424-2000.